Migraine Collection : 2

Gluten & Dairy / Lactose Free

What’s BS vs real?

Gluten Issues

Just because it says gluten free in big letters, doesn’t make it 100% gluten free.

Gluten is a type of sugar that is in wheat.

Fact: wheat contains gluten.

Fact: Gluten Free bread is real.

Those two facts contradict each other.

Always read the ingredients, not just the side / front label.

If there is any wheat in the bread, it is not gluten free. If it contains “bleached flower”, you can safely assume that is wheat bread.

If it contains rice powder or corn flour; congratulations, that’s not gluten.

There are many breads made without wheat flour, that are gluten free.

Just be sure to check for additional sub ingredients.

Low quality foods usually contain watered down ingredients. Many places do the same with any powders, doesn’t have to be a liquid to get thinned out and have a substitute added. Corn starch can contain gluten because it’s usually added as a thickener.

Is cornstarch gluten free?

Only 100% pure cornstarch is gluten free.

Most cornstarch you can buy is not pure.

Answer: Yes, but often not.

It can be used in batter, soups, etc.

Did you know that a lot of Guacamole chip dips contain wheat flour as a thickener?

As said above, be careful.

Author: MCtheGirL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *